Weekender Bahrain, Thursday, February 20 2020

Formula 2 tests open to GP ticket holders

admin 30-Mar-2017

Formula 2 tests open to  GP ticket holders

All those with tickets to the 2017 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix will be able to attend this the Formula 2 pre-season testing at “The Home of Motorsport in the Middle East”.
        F2 was previously known as the GP2 Series since it first started in 2005. The single-seater championship has now been rebranded ahead of the 2017 season, which will kick off in support of the Bahrain Grand Prix from April 14 to 16 in Sakhir.
        The tests, will take place till Friday and are a part of BIC’s “Race Fever” campaign, organised to help build up excitement ahead of this year’s Formula 1 extravaganza.
        Tickets to the Bahrain Grand Prix are still available. Currently, they can be purchased online at www.bahraingp.com, by calling the BIC Hotline on +973-17-450000, or at the BIC Stand in Bahrain City Centre.
        This year’s F2 grid features 20 drivers representing 10 teams.
        Charles Leclerc (MON) and Antonio Fuoco (ITA) are driving for PREMA Racing; Louis Delétraz (SUI) and Gustav Malja (SWE) for Racing Engineering; Luca Ghiotto (ITA) and Artem Markelov (RUS) for Russian Time; Nobuharu Matsushita (JAP) and Alexander Albon (THA) for ART Grand Prix; Oliver Rowland (GBR) and Nicholas Latifi (CAN) for DAMS; Ralph Boschung (SUI) and Roberto Merhi (ESP) for Campos Racing; Sergio Sette Camara (BRA) and Jordan King (GBR) for MP Motorsport; Nabil Jeffri (MAS) and Sergio Canamasas (ESP) for Trident; Nyck de Vries (NED) and Johnny Cecotto (VEN) for Rapax; and Norman Nato (FRA) and Sean Gelael (INA) for Pertamina Arden.
        This year marks the 13th season of the championship. Following the season-opener in Bahrain, action will return to Europe with the second round in Barcelona from May 12 to 14, before moving to Monte Carlo on for May 25 to 27 and going on to Baku in Azerbaijan four weeks later.The month of July will see three events, starting with Spielberg back-to-back with Silverstone on July 7 to 9 and then July 14 to 16, respectively. Budapest will host the seventh round of the season on July 28-30 before a welcome summer break.