Weekender Bahrain, Saturday, December 14 2019

Champions crowned

admin 20-Apr-2019

Champions crowned

Bahrain International Karting Circuit (BIKC) crowned over the weekend the champions of the 2018/2019 Bahrain Karting Sprint Championship (BKSC).

This season’s title-winners were determined following the completion of the sixth and final round of racing held at BIKC in Sakhir. Five drivers emerged from the BKSC’s Bahrain Rotax Max Mojo Challenge (BRMMC), while another came from the Bahrain Sprint Sodi W Series (BSSWS). Among the BRMMC’s champions were Mohammed Mattar of Absolute Racing, Essa Aldossary of ED Racing Team and the DoJoMoto Racing trio of Fahad Alkhaled, Santhosh Kumar and Luca Kane Houghton. Meanwhile, Ali Baslar was the title winner in the BSSWS.

In the Mini class, Kumar emerged as the new champion after collecting a total of 188 points during his racing campaign. Kumar was able to finish third in his class in a tightly contested final round, in which the top three were separated by less than a second. Xanda Topp claimed first place in the sprint while Matteo Quintarelli followed 0.796s behind for an Absolute Racing one-two. Kumar was third 0.903s back. Aside from the drivers’ champions in the BRMMC, Absolute Racing were able to win the teams title in the Max, Mini and Micro categories. ED Racing Team won in the Max Master class while DoJoMoto Racing triumphed in the Junior category. 

The weekend’s race winners were presented their respective trophies by officials from Bahrain International Circuit, and BIKC at a podium ceremony. The title winners will be given their silverware at the end-of-season awards night, scheduled to be held soon.